The Art of Robert Bateman. Introduction by Roger Tory Peterson - Text by Ramsay Derry
A Allan Lane / Madison Press Book - Printed in Canada

 

Magnificent book on the famous naturalist and wildlife artist Robert Bateman, born in Toronto in 1930. It contains 82 color plates of his works, paintings of scenes of wild life recognized for their striking realism and quality of detail, as well as numerous photographs, illustrations and sketches in black and white.

Blue canvas hardcover book with dust jacket. The cover dust jacket is a bit damaged, but the book as such is in good condition. Text and illustrations in perfect condition (See detailed information opposite)

 

ABSTRACT

“The work of Robert Bateman has brought new vitality and distinction to the wildlife art. His astonishingly detailed and carefully composed paintings of birds and mammals have been received with enthousiasm by both the public and the leading authorities in the field. Bateman's paintings «... demand that you sense what is inside a plank of weathered wood, that you feel the resilience of the branches and the sponginess of the moss. He wants you to think of what the heron sees through the clear riffle even though you yourself cannot ... His paintings invite you to become an effective participant in the world he has created.» The is the 1st book to be devoted to Robert Bateman's work. The 82 colour plates offer a breathtaking opportunity for the reader to enjoy a tremendous scope of the paintings, from a tiny sparrow in a richly detailed streambank to a massive rhinoceros head; from an infinitely delicate heron to a majestic vista of elk dwarfed by the Rocky Mountains. In the accompanying commentary Bateman acts as a guide to his own paintings, recalling encounters with wildlife subjects and pointing out unexpected features and details."

The Art of Robert Bateman - Allen Lane - Second Printing, 1982

C$30.00Price
    • DIMENSIONS :
      Approx. 29 cm high X 31 cm wide X 2.5 cm thick (11-1/4 X 12-1/4 X 1 in.)
    • ORIGIN: Printed in Canada
    • ERA: 1982
    • CONDITION: Good general condition - the book as such is in good condition - the blue canvas on the cover is slightly discolored by the sun on the edges. I've also noticed 2 places where glue has parted between the pages, but everything is held together with the binding thread. Text and illustrations in perfect condition. No freckles. The dust jacket is a bit damaged at places with adhesive tape repairs (see photos)
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest

© 2021 by La Fouineuse. 

0

LIVRE EN ANGLAIS
The Art of Robert Bateman. Introduction par Roger Tory Peterson - Texte par Ramsay Derry
Allan Lane / Madison Press Book - Imprimé au Canada

 

Magnifique livre en anglais sur le célèbre naturaliste et artiste animalier Robert Bateman, né à Toronto en 1930. Il contient 82 planches couleur de ses oeuvres,  peintures de scènes de la vie sauvage reconnues pour leur réalisme saisissant et la qualité des détails, ainsi que de nombreuses photographies, illustrations et croquis en noir et blanc. 

Livre relié de toile bleu avec jaquette. La jaquette a du vécu, mais le livre en tant que tel est en bonne condition. Texte et illustrations en parfait état (Voir informations détaillées ci-contre)

 

RÉSUMÉ 

«Le travail de Robert Bateman a apporté une nouvelle vitalité et une nouvelle distinction à l'art animalier. Ses peintures étonnamment détaillées et soigneusement composées d'oiseaux et de mammifères ont été accueillies avec enthousiasme par le public et les principales autorités du domaine (...) Les peintures de Bateman «... exigent que vous sentiez ce qu'il y a à l'intérieur d'une planche de bois patiné, que vous ressentiez la résilience des branches et le caractère spongieux de la mousse. Il veut que vous pensiez à ce que le héron voit à travers le fusil clair même si vous ne pouvez pas vous-même ... Ses peintures vous invitent à devenir un acteur véritable du monde qu'il a créé. » C'est le premier livre consacré à l'œuvre de Robert Bateman. Les 82 planches en couleurs offrent une opportunité époustouflante au lecteur de profiter d'une vaste gamme de peintures, d'un minuscule moineau sur une rive richement détaillée à une tête de rhinocéros massive; d'un héron infiniment délicat à une vue majestueuse de wapitis éclipsés par les montagnes Rocheuses. Avec ses commentaires explicatifs, Bateman sert de guide à ses propres peintures, rappelant ses rencontres avec des sujets sauvages et soulignant des caractéristiques et des détails inattendus.» Traduction du texte anglais sur la jaquette

The Art of Robert Bateman - Allen Lane - Deuxième impression, 1982

30,00C$Prix
    • DIMENSIONS : 
      Approx. 29 cm de haut X 31 cm de large X 2,5 cm d'épaisseur (11-1/4 X 12-1/4 X 1 po.)
    • ORIGINE : Imprimé au Canada
    • ÉPOQUE : 1982
    • CONDITION : Bon état général - le livre en tant que tel est en bonne condition - la toile bleue sur la couverture est légérement décolorée par le soleil sur les bords. J'ai aussi remarqué 2 endroits ou les pages sont écartées, mais le tout tient bien en place avec le fil de reliure. Texte et illustrations en parfaite condition. Aucune rousseur. La jaquette quand à elle est assez usée avec des réparations au ruban adhésif (voir photos) 
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest

©2021 par La Fouineuse

0