The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982

The Art of Robert Bateman - Second Printing, 1982

Regular price$30.00
/
Shipping charges calculated at checkout.
Magnificent English hardcover book on the famous naturalist and wildlife artist Robert Bateman, born in Toronto in 1930. It contains 82 color plates of his works, paintings of scenes of wild life recognized for their striking realism and quality of detail, as well as numerous photographs, illustrations and black and white sketches.

SUMMARY
“The work of Robert Bateman has brought new vitality and distinction to the wildlife art. His astonishingly detailed and carefully composed paintings of birds and mammals have been received with enthousiasm by both the public and the leading authorities in the field. Bateman's paintings «... demand that you sense what is inside a plank of weathered wood, that you feel the resilience of the branches and the sponginess of the moss. He wants you to think of what the heron sees through the clear riffle even though you yourself cannot ... His paintings invite you to become an effective participant in the world he has created.» The is the 1st book to be devoted to Robert Bateman's work. The 82 colour plates offer a breathtaking opportunity for the reader to enjoy a tremendous scope of the paintings, from a tiny sparrow in a richly detailed streambank to a massive rhinoceros head; from an infinitely delicate heron to a majestic vista of elk dwarfed by the Rocky Mountains. In the accompanying commentary Bateman acts as a guide to his own paintings, recalling encounters with wildlife subjects and pointing out unexpected features and details."

Introduction by Roger Tory Peterson - Text by Ramsay Derry Allan Lane / Madison Press Book - Printed in Canada Blue canvas hardcover book with dust jacket. CONDITION: Good overall condition - the book as such is in good condition - the blue canvas on the cover is slightly sun discolored at the edges. I also noticed 2 places where the pages are apart, but everything is held in place with the binding thread. Text and illustrations in perfect condition. No freckles. The jacket when it is quite worn with repairs to the adhesive tape (see photos) DIMENSIONS: Approx. 29cm high X 31cm wide X 2.5cm thick (11-1 / 4 X 12-1 / 4 X 1 in.)

MINT: The item is or appears to be unused. Sometimes tags or original packaging are present.
EXCELLENT: The item has been used but has no significant flaws.
VERY GOOD: The item has been used; has minor flaws that do not detract significantly from the item's appearance or usability.
GOOD: The item has been used and shows normal signs of age or use.
FAIR: The item is visibly used but still has redeeming qualities and with some minor repairs may be restored to a better condition.

Your order will be packed with the utmost care and shipped by Canada Post as soon as possible. For more details regarding our shipping and return policy, you can consult our General Conditions of Sale


Recently seen

The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982
The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982

The Art of Robert Bateman - Deuxième impression, 1982

Prix régulier$30.00
/
Frais d'expédition calculés lors du passage à la caisse.
LIVRE EN ANGLAIS
Magnifique livre relié en anglais sur le célèbre naturaliste et artiste animalier Robert Bateman, né à Toronto en 1930. Il contient 82 planches couleur de ses œuvres, peintures de scènes de la vie sauvage reconnues pour leur réalisme saisissant et la qualité des détails, ainsi que de nombreuses photographies, illustrations et croquis en noir et blanc.

RÉSUMÉ
«Le travail de Robert Bateman a apporté une nouvelle vitalité et une nouvelle distinction à l'art animalier. Ses peintures étonnamment détaillées et soigneusement composées d'oiseaux et de mammifères ont été accueillies avec enthousiasme par le public et les principales autorités du domaine (...) Les peintures de Bateman «... exigent que vous sentiez ce qu'il y a à l'intérieur d'une planche de bois patiné, que vous ressentiez la résilience des branches et le caractère spongieux de la mousse. Il veut que vous pensiez à ce que le héron voit à travers le fusil clair même si vous ne pouvez pas vous-même... Ses peintures vous invitent à devenir un acteur véritable du monde qu'il a créé. » C'est le premier livre consacré à l'œuvre de Robert Bateman. Les 82 planches en couleurs offrent une opportunité époustouflante au lecteur de profiter d'une vaste gamme de peintures, d'un minuscule moineau sur une rive richement détaillée à une tête de rhinocéros massive; d'un héron infiniment délicat à une vue majestueuse de wapitis éclipsés par les montagnes Rocheuses. Avec ses commentaires explicatifs, Bateman sert de guide à ses propres peintures, rappelant ses rencontres avec des sujets sauvages et soulignant des caractéristiques et des détails inattendus.» (Traduction du texte anglais sur la jaquette)

Introduction par Roger Tory Peterson - Texte par Ramsay Derry
Allan Lane / Madison Press Book - Imprimé au Canada
Livre relié de toile bleu avec jaquette. CONDITION : Bon état général - le livre en tant que tel est en bonne condition - la toile bleue sur la couverture est légèrement décolorée par le soleil sur les bords. J'ai aussi remarqué 2 endroits ou les pages sont écartées, mais le tout tient bien en place avec le fil de reliure. Texte et illustrations en parfaite condition. Aucune rousseur. La jaquette quand à elle est assez usée avec des réparations au ruban adhésif (voir photos)
DIMENSIONS : Approx. 29 cm de haut X 31 cm de large X 2,5 cm d'épaisseur (11-1/4 X 12-1/4 X 1 po.)

  • COMME NEUF : L'article n'a pas ou ne semble pas avoir été utilisé. Parfois, l'étiquette ou l'emballage est encore présent.
  • EXCELLENT : L'article a été utilisé, mais ne présente pas d'altération significative.
  • TRÈS BON : L'article a été utilisé et présente quelques altérations mineures qui ne nuisent pas de manière significative à son apparence ou son utilisation.
  • BON : L'article a été utilisé et présente des traces normales d'usure dûes à son âge ou son utilisation.
  • CORRECT : L'article présente des marques visibles d'usure, mais son cachet ou sa qualité compensent, et des réparations mineures suffiront à lui rendre un meilleur état.

Votre commande sera emballée avec le plus grand soin et expédiée par Postes Canada dans les meilleurs délais. Pour de plus amples détails concernant notre politique d'envoi et de retour, vous pouvez consulter nos Conditions générales de ventes


Vu récemment